BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Jan Ameen, Acting Chair, Westminster; David Jones, Brookline; Michelle Cherrier and Lester Dunklee, Dummerston; Lewis Sumner, Halifax; Judy Flower, Jamaica; Tony Gordon, Marlboro; Shannon Meckle, Newfane; Dan Toomey, Putney; James Damato, Readsboro; Gig Zboray, Readsboro and Whitingham; Irvin Stowell, Townshend; Nancy Meinhard, Wardsboro; and Merrill Mundell, Wilmington.

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: John Allen and Brandie Starr, Brattleboro; Thomas Baltrus and Kevin Stein, Dover; Cheryl Franklin and Sheila Morse, Guilford; Cara Cheyette, Halifax; Andy Coyne, Jamaica; Stillman Vonderhorst, Marlboro; Albert Dupell, Stratton; Dale West, Townshend; Tim Franklin and Emily Vergobbe, Vernon; and Tom Consolino, Wilmington.

WSWMD STAFF PRESENT: Robert Spencer, Executive Director, Kristen Benoit, Program Coordinator/District Clerk; and Dale Bessette, Scalehouse Attendant/Truck Driver.

OTHERS PRESENT: Trevor Mance and Rich Smith, TAM Waste Management.

Ms. Ameen called the Meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

  1. 1)Changes to the Agenda: The Board agreed to the following Agenda change:
  • Board of Supervisors agreed to discuss Agenda item #9 after Agenda item #5.

2) Consider Election of Board Chair: The Board discussed a “rotating Chair.” Ms. Ameen reviewed Attorney Callahan’s recommendation regarding a “rotating” chair. Ms. Cherrier, Ms. Meinhard, and Mr. Toomey volunteered to serve as Chair, on a rotating basis.

Motion made, seconded, and carried to elect Ms. Cherrier as Chair of the Board beginning next month.  

3) Approval of Minutes – August 10, 2017 – Motion made, seconded, and carried to accept the minutes of August 10th as amended.

4) Approval of Minutes – August 31, 2017 – Motion made, seconded, and carried to accept the minutes of August 31st. There were 2 abstentions.

5) Approval of Check Register – August 2017: Mr. Spencer reported on various expenditures on the Check Register.

Motion made, seconded, and carried to approve the August Check Register.

9) Consider Sale of MRF Equipment (see enclosed WSWMD Net Book Value Asset List):

The Board of Supervisors discussed the sale of the single cage mill glass crusher with accessory parts, the trommel screen, 2 conveyor belts, and 2 30-cubic yard roll-off containers to TAM Waste Management. The Board was reminded there is a Motion prohibiting the sale of any MRF equipment.

Motion made, seconded, and carried to rescind the vote not to sell the MRF equipment for one year.

Motion made, seconded, and carried that due to the unique circumstances of the sale; the Board will consider a single source sale.

The Board of Supervisor’s and Trevor Mance discussed the price of the glass crusher, accessory parts, trommel screen, and conveyor belts.

Motion made, seconded, and carried to accept $32,500 for the cost of the equipment. There were 2 nays.

The Board of Supervisors and Mr. Mance discussed the sale of 2 30-cubic yard roll-off containers that is currently in use by the Town of Winhall. Mr. Mance offered WSWMD $6,300 for both containers.  

Motion made, seconded, and carried to sell two 30-cubic yard roll-off containers to Mr. Mance for $6,300.  

6) Financial Report Review – August 2017: The Board of Supervisors reviewed and discussed the Financial Report.  

Motion made, seconded, and carried to accept the Financial Report.

7) Program Coordinator’s Report:Ms. Benoit reported on various programs including event recycling, radio ads, member community newsletters, and High Meadows Grant.   Ms. Benoit stated the FY 2018 budget includes an increase in the household hazardous waste (HHW) collection event participation fee from $5.00/household to $10.00/household. Ms. Benoit asked the Board if they would like to implement the HHW participation fee increase. Ms. Benoit reminded the Board there is a 10-gallon limit per household.

Motion made, seconded, and carried to keep the HHW participation fee at $5.00/household.

8) Executive Director’s Report:Mr. Spencer reported on the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) for the roll-off containers loaned to towns, Town of Dover’s notification that they are considering withdrawal from the District, Winhall withdrawal costs, increase in compost sales, and a meeting with Wilmington’s new Town Manager, Scott Tucker, to discuss contamination in the roll-off containers at their 24/7 tennis court location. Lastly, Mr. Spencer asked the Board if they would consider the sale of access stickers to out-of-district residents, businesses, or institutions. The Board was not supportive of selling accesses stickers to residents or businesses from non-member communities.  

10) Consider Termination Agreement for Whitingham Withdrawal: The Board of Supervisor’s reviewed and discussed the Agreement: Termination of Whitingham from Windham Solid Waste Management District. The Board requested a few changes to the document. Ms. Zboray will discuss the suggested changes with Whitingham’s Selectboard and attorney.

11) Rejoining fees for Towns that Withdraw: The Board discussed rejoining fees for towns that withdraw from the District. Mr. Mundell stated the Finance Committee is recommending a $5,000 rejoining fee (in addition to the annual assessment), but noted the rejoining fee could be rescinded with a 2/3 vote of the Board.

Motion made and seconded to implement a $5,000 rejoining fee for towns that vote to withdraw from the District but the fee could be rescinded with a 2/3 vote from the Board. The motion failed.

Motion made, seconded, and carried to table the motion until the next meeting. There was one nay.

12) Payment in Lieu of Taxes (P.I.L.O.T.): The Board reviewed and discussed the WSWMD/ Town of Brattleboro P.I.L.O.T. MOU. Ms. Ameen noted the MOU states the MOU will be reviewed in three years and is dated Feb. 29, 2012. The Board agreed to discuss the P.I.L.O.T with the Town of Brattleboro. Mr. Damato and Ms. Ameen volunteered to meet with the Town of Brattleboro.

13) Executive Session (if needed): None

14) Other Business as Legally Allowed: None

15) Adjournment: Motion made, seconded and carried to adjourn the meeting:The meeting was adjourned at 9:15 p.m.

Kristen Benoit

Program Coordinator/District Clerk